Monday, March 10, 2008

Fair well, Blogger. Hello WordPress.


I've moved my blog to WordPress. Blogger has got to get a better help system set up for its users. Click the link above to see my new blog.

Sunday, March 9, 2008

Depp As Dali? Ooers.

Listening To: Modest Mouse - The View

According to this article on MSN.ca, Johnny Depp (*sigh*) is looking for scripts. He's planning to portray artist Salvador Dali.

Personally, I think Johnny would make a wicked cool Dali. He's already got the weirdness- and the twisty mustache.

Al Pacino and Peter O'Toole are being lined up to star in rival movies, 'Dali and I' and 'Goodbye Dali' respectively.

Lame. Pacino is great, if a bit too Italian. And isn't Peter O'Toole, like, a million years old?

Tudor Costume from "Other Boleyn Girl" on eBay!

Despite from what I've heard about the movie (that it's poorly made and tragically flawed), this gown from The Other Boleyn Girl is now on eBay. Man, it sure is perdy. (Click link below to view.)
THE OTHER BOLEYN GIRL - WOMEN'S TUDOR COSTUME

In other news, I am now the proud owner of Sims 2: FreeTime. Woot.

"Don't talk back to Darth Vader- he'll gitcha!"

Listening: Amos Lee (ft. Norah Jones) - Colors

There was a ladybug in my dog's nose yesterday. Just thought I would share that with you.

Also, it rained and rained and rained some more yesterday. So, naturally, my connection was shit for most of the day. The weather is fine today so my connection should only be slightly shitty.

I bought this watch off of eBay but I didn't find out if I won it or not until this morning. I think it's wicked cool. I've been wearing my mom's old ratty-looking one for ages ever since my old watch stopped working; it was my great-grandmother's and it was given to me after she died two and a half years ago. I just liked it. But this one is fantastic too.

Mom and Dad went to town today and Dad is going to see if he can find a copy of The Sims 2: FreeTime for me. I'm quite looking forward to playing it. According to its page on Wikipedia, I'll probably enjoy it a lot more than I did Open For Business. That expansion pack kinda stunk, in my opinion. And I swear, it's the very last Sims 2 expansion pack I'm going to buy, ever... until after I start college and have a part-time job and some extra cash to throw away on stupid computer games. Yeah, uh-huh.

Found this video on MSN.ca and then found it on YouTube, specifically so I could post it here. It's probably the cutest thing I've ever seen. Man, that kid is sweet- both in the "Dude, that's sweet!" and "Awww. How sweet!" way.


Friday, March 7, 2008

Friday 5: What's It's Like?

http://friday5.org/

1. What is your keyring like?
I don't actually have a keyring. I used to collect key chains but I had them all on the same ring and... well, it's a bit silly to carry around a keyring with twenty-five pointless things on it.

2. What is your purse/bag/briefcase like?
My purse looks and is shaped like a guitar. Silver and black.

3. What is your wallet like?
My wallet is also silver and black. With skulls on it.

4. What is your mousepad like?
My mousepad... has a picture of Hugh Laurie on it. Damn, I gotta get a new mousepad. Actually, yeah. I'm gonna go look for a new one on Cafe Press right now.

5. What are the curtains in your bedroom like?
They're pink-brown colored blinds. And quite dusty.

I had to Pea.

Listening: The Who - Substitute

Well, I just started a blog on Two Peas In A Bucket. Still not sure why the site is called that. I guess it doesn't really matter much. The site rocks either way. If anybody would like to check out my profile, I'm jillianne - keep in mind I haven't been on that site very long. Less than a day, actually.

Still nothing being done about the problem with the page elements on Blogger. I'm getting quite annoyed. Another person posted a message on the help group about the same problem, so more than 2 people are having troubles with it. Blogger is fab- but they really need a different way of fixing bugs and helping their users more.

My brother called today. I'm staying at his place on the 22nd after I come back from shopping in Halifax with the girls. He said something about watching Walk Hard that evening. Could be fun. Plus, he asked me what kind of hardware I have in my computer. He's getting a new one in a couple months and he said he would give me his old stuff- mostly so I'll have something newer in my computer for when I'm in college. His hardware works good and everything and would obviously be newer than the antiques that are in my computer now.

Thursday, March 6, 2008

Victory is mine!

Yay! I did it! And I didn't even have to talk to Mr. Higgins for that long! He transferred me over to Student Services and I spoke to Mr. Boudreau, who always handled all my course changes in the past. We always ended up chatting about Crohn's Disease and associated medication because his wife is a long-time Crohn's sufferer. Anyway, he remembered who I was and sad he'd be glad to write the letter for me.

I'm to pick it up on March 17th. Goody.

Junk & Foibles, you shall be missed.

Listening To: Reindeer Section - Cartwheels

I just found out that my favorite store in the whole world, Junk & Foibles is closing at the end of this month. It's the coolest store ever, I swear. They sell vintage clothing, buttons, home-made art and a lot of other cool things. I've boughten 2 antique hats from there. They're having a going-out-of-business sale this month. I hope to get there on the 22nd, as I am going to Halifax with some friends.

Is it nerdy that I already have my outfit picked out for that...?

Still no fix to the Blogger bug. But someone replied to my post and said they were having the same problem, so that's comforting. Nice to know I'm not going batty or anything.

*quivery sigh* Well, the time has come for me to grow a pair and call my old vice principal and ask him to write me a recommendation letter.... Why, why, why does he make me feel so nervous?

Wednesday, March 5, 2008

Something Is (Apparently) Broken

I just posted a message in a Help Group ("Something Is Broken") about not being able to edit my Page Elements. I hope this gets fixed soon. I like Blogspot and I'd rather not have to find another blog host- again.

Oh, God. Was just surfing MSN.ca and came across article called Skip Breakfast, Pack on the Pounds. Great. I never eat breakfast. Ever. How could not eating a piece of bread, some cereal or whatever cause you to gain weight?!

An estimated 12 percent to 34 percent of children and adolescents skip breakfast on a regular basis, a number that increases with age. Previous studies have linked breakfast skipping with a greater tendency to gain weight.

That makes no sense at all.

The new study was both cross-sectional and prospective - moving forward in time. More than 2,000 adolescents were followed for five years.

Okay, that's just creepy.

"What happens is that total fat and saturated fat as a percentage of total daily energy were lower in the breakfast eaters compared with breakfast skippers," Richel explained. "This really shows that we have the potential to improve energy balance and weight control with healthy breakfast consumption. We're not talking pop-tarts."

Dammit. I love pop-tarts, especially the chocolate-filled ones with chocolate drizzled on the outside. I used to eat them before school at 6 AM, so that I wouldn't faint by the time lunch rolled around, sometimes not until 12:30 or so.

Also on MSN.ca news, it would seem that J.Lo can't stop buying crap for her new-borns. What the hell are babies going to do with a pony. And diamonds. And a masseuse. And several thousand bottles of Glow. I mean, seriously. Keep that up and you'll have two very spoiled B.Rats on your hands.

A musical adaptation of Desperate Housewives is in the makes. Good grief. Although, it might be a laugh. Just picture it: an Eva Longoria look-alike belting out a melody about shtooping the hot gardener behind her husband's back.

Actually, come to think of it, I'll take ten tickets please.

Tuesday, March 4, 2008

Amanda & I: Ink Bound?

Listening To: Garbage - Bad Boyfriend

Okaaaaay. Now Blogger won't let me edit the page elements with Flock. What the hell?! I'm in the process of seeing if I can edit them with Internet Explorer again, now that I'm used to Flock.

And the verdict is... No. It doesn't work in IE. Well, okay then. That's somehow comforting.

I wrote Chapter 47 of Whyte Books. Whatevs.

Amanda and I were talking about getting tattoos next year when we're in Charlottetown together, depending on how our financial situations are, of course.. She also mentioned that if she backs out, she'll still go with me when I go to get one. I figure, I gave up getting my Athena tattoo before college, I deserve to get a small one while I'm there. I'm considering my options. Right now, the number one contender is a dripping strawberry, in honor of Across The Universe. Yes, I love that movie that much. (For the record, I would also like portraits of Sweeney Todd and Edward Scissorhands.)

I'm going to go scrapbook for a bit. I'm making a page called "Waiting". It'll go between my cover page and acceptance letter. I'll post it here when it's finished. That won't be for a while though.

I'm beginning to think I need something else to occupy my time.

Monday, March 3, 2008

Review: "There Will Be Blood"

Name of Film: There Will Be Blood
Release Date: December 26 2007
Trailer: Click here
Starring: Daniel Day-Lewis, Paul Dano
Website: therewillbeblood.com
Rating: 7 oil wells out of 10.

I'm pretty sure the only other Daniel Day-Lewis movies I've ever seen was Gangs of New York and he was a total bad-ass in that so- hey! Why not?

(I'll just quickly note that I really liked Paul Dano in Little Miss Sunshine. I thought his part was really well done. I didn't even know he was in this movie until I started watching it.)

I originally thought this movie was a western- damn. Was I wrong. No cowboys in sight- not even a Southern accent. Which, in my opinion, made this movie all that much better.

The first thing I noticed about this film was the creepy music. I don't think I've ever heard music like that in a movie before- but it definitely gave the movie a different feel to it than it might have had otherwise.

There Will Be Blood is the story of Daniel Plainview (Daniel Day-Lewis), an anti-social "oilman" who locates small towns with lots of oil under the ground. He buys their land and drains the ground dry. The main plot of this movie circles around him finding this one certain small town in California with "an ocean of oil under their feet". Plainview pretends to be a family man for the sake of appearances (even adopting a son, from a former employee who died on the job, and raising him as his own) but despises the idea of religion. The local faith healer (Paul Dano) quickly becomes an enemy of Plainview's.

Let the games begin.

What can I say about this film? The acting is crazy good. The music is eery. Daniel Day-Lewis' character is one that you feel both sympathy and hate for. The movie begins with you wondering, "Oh man. What will he do next?". By the end, you only expect him to do something completely crazy and cold-hearted.

My only complaint is that they didn't show Daniel Day-Lewis bathing in a tub of gold... or oil.

Sunday, March 2, 2008

Review: "I Am America (And So Can You)"

Name of Book: I Am America (And So Can You!)
Author: Stephen Colbert
Published: October 2007
Website: makemeamerica.com
Audio Sample: Click to download
Rating: Four and a half sarcastic comments out of five.

I have been watching The Colbert Report (almost) regularly for almost six months now. I always liked his big-headed self-loving ways and the way he encourages his fans to worship him openly. I love that he hosts the show as a character. I don't think that's ever been done before- brilliant.

I didn't buy this book with my own money. And for that, I am not a hero. I thought it was mostly political and maybe serious so I didn't look into it to much. No, friends and readers: I got it as a gift from my mom for my 20th birthday. Is there a better sentiment out there that says "Here, daughter. I love you this much." I really don't think so.


From the first sentence- perhaps even the first word- I was laughing. Colbert mentions political mumbo-jumbo once in a while, but not enough to make you put the book away. (By the way, it has instructions inside the book on how to retire the book after you are finished reading it, diagrams included.) The chapters, written in the voice of Colbert's character, just explain some of his other opinions that he doesn't have time to talk about on his show. My personal favorite chapters were:
  • "The Family"
  • "Animals"
  • "Sex & Dating"
  • "Homosexuals"
  • "Race"
  • "Immigrants"
  • As an added bonus, a chapter about the White House Correspondents' Dinner (with Colbert's speech) is included
Keep in mind that this book can be appreciated by anyone with a slightly sick sense of humor... Also keep in mind that this book would not (I repeat- would not) be appreciated by anyone who takes any of the above subjects seriously.

With that being said, go buy this book. Like, right now.

Saturday, March 1, 2008

Let's Get Physical!!

Listening To: Prozzak - Pretty Girls

(Yes, that's right. Prozzak. I was just in a mood for some different music so I located some of my old favorite CDs- and came across Prozzak's Saturday People. And I've been listening to it for a large portion of the day. 'Cause it's catchy... God, I'm so cool.)

Before I continue, let me say this: I've never been thin. I like my curves. Boobs, hips, bum and tummy included. But I promised myself that if I got that surgery and everything went well, I would start exercising again. Back in grade 9, I did 200 sit-ups almost every night and my stomach looked quite cool. In grade 10, I started CEC and I had to get up so early and I would just be so damn tired by the time I got home, so I gave it up. Then that summer I got sick and I lost a lot of weight because I was throwing up so much.

(For the record, during this time I did get thinner than I've ever been. I couldn't even enjoy it because I was so sick. A few months ago I saw a picture of myself from my seventeenth birthday. Yes, I was thin... but I looked disgusting. I was pale and my arms were all thin and gross. I hated how I looked. I would rather be curvy and a little overweight than look like that again. I'm sure there are people out there who would rather be thin and gross- but it's just not me.)

But then I was put on Immuran and I put back on all that weight, plus more. I'm still pro-curves and I'm generally okay with how I look (except when I'm trying on clothes in a store... but that's normal, right?) but I want to be healthy. I'd like to eat better: choose better foods and cut back on junk food. I'd like to start working out again too.

For the past 2 nights, I've done 25 sit-ups... and it hurt. Doing 200 used to be so easy for me!! Dammit. But it'll get easier eventually. Then I'll add more as I continue. I should really make a chart for myself, or else I'll start skipping my exercises. See, if I have a chart to check off every time I exercise, it'll make me feel guilty if I skip a day. I'm weird like that.

I found some articles at Bella Online about Beginners Fitness, so I'll probably read some of those and try some things out.

And then I'll get around to doing those 25 sit-ups...

Dwight Schrute = Baby Daddy?

Listening To: Just Jack - Starz In Their Eyes

Well, Flock seems to still be working out for me. Cool, cool. Although, I just found one thing that I'm not crazy about: I usually push Ctrl + U to make something underlined. It doesn't work in Flock, I guess. Ctrl + I seems to work for Italics and Ctrl + B seems to work for Bold- but no U. Lame.

I had to laugh at this article at MSN.ca. It suggests that once The Office comes back, Angela should be pregnant with Dwight's baby. I doubt they'll use this plot though, since Angela Kinsey (the actress who portrays Angela on the show) is already seven months pregnant. But maybe they could use the magic of television and make her only three or four months pregnant instead.

Ya never know.

Today I sewed up a hole in my favorite pair of jeans and watched Finding Neverland. I always bawl at the end of that movie. Johnny is so amazing. And now, I'm going to watch some early season 4 episodes of The Office, drink a can of Coke and have a Kit-Kat.